Maryland · MD · Vehicles
Maryland: Is there an annual vehicle safety inspection?
Only at sale or first registration
Only at titling. Maryland requires a safety inspection before a used car is titled and registered, including when sold or brought from another state.
Before the MVA titles and registers a used vehicle, it must have a valid inspection certificate from a licensed state inspection station. The certificate is valid for 90 days, and the inspection is done only when a vehicle is first titled in Maryland, not every year. Historic (Class L) vehicles are exempt.
Conditions
- Inspection certificate required to title a used vehicle
- Certificate valid for 90 days
What the law says
Before the Administration titles and registers any used vehicle, except a Class L (historic) vehicle, it shall require a valid inspection certificate for the vehicle.
Sources
- Md. Code, Transportation § 23-107(a)(1) Official · mgaleg.maryland.gov
- Maryland MVA: Vehicle Safety Inspection Official · mva.maryland.gov
Confirm with the state
- Agency
- Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
- Phone
- 410-768-7000
- Website
- mva.maryland.gov
How bordering states compare
- Delaware Regular safety inspectionDelaware requires cars to pass a state inspection for safety and equipment before each registration renewal; newer cars can be waived.
- Pennsylvania Regular safety inspectionPennsylvania requires most vehicles to pass a safety inspection every year.
- Virginia Regular safety inspectionVirginia requires registered vehicles to pass a safety inspection every 12 months at a State Police-licensed station.
- West Virginia Regular safety inspectionWest Virginia requires registered vehicles to pass a safety inspection every two years.